Your internet guide to
all things catfish




Back to Family page Back to Family page

Auchenoglanis tanganicanus Boulenger, 1906

Image contributors to this species:

Evert Van Ammelrooy (1)

ScotCat Sources:

Etymology = Genus

 Other Sources:

Google Search  All Catfish Species Inventory

Relevant Information:

Teugels et al. (1991) considered the genus Auchenoglanis to be comprised of two valid species: A. biscutatus and A. occidentalis. Due to the work carried out recently (2010) by Michael Retzer there are now 8 in this genus with six new species, A. acuticeps, A. biscutatus, A. occidentalis, A. sacchii, A. senegali, A. tanganicanus, A. tchadiensis and A. wittei. This species is distinguished in having small, irregularly shaped spots of various sizes and intensity on the body and the adipose fin of adults. Furthermore, very large adults larger than 30cm/12" standard length possess six small but evenly-spaced prominent spots beginning under the dorsal fin and ending on the caudal peduncle just above the lateral line. Previously considered a synonym of A. occidentalis, this species is known only from Lake Tanganyika.

Common Name:

Tanganyikan Giraffe Catfish


Auchenoglanis occidentalis tanganicanus


Claroteidae blycipitidae


Africa: Lake Tanganyika.


50cm. (20ins)


23-27°C (73-81°F)




Retzer, M.E (2010) Taxonomy of Auchenoglanis Günther 1865 (Siluriformes: Auchenoglanididae). Zootaxa 2655, pp. 25–51.



Back to Family Back to Family page








































































                                                                                             updated = September 13, 2017 © ScotCat 1997-2017